Comic Books
The BlackSci-Fi.com Online Campaign Corner/ Bovine League #2

The BlackSci-Fi.com Online Campaign Corner/ Bovine League #2

In our continuing goal of highlighting BlackSci-Fi and contributions by creators of color and works featuring characters of color across the various creative spectrums, we here at BlackSci-Fi.com are going to highlight some awesome Kickstarter, Seed and Spark, GoFund...

Black Panther: A Cultural Exploration

Black Panther: A Cultural Exploration

Take an engrossing deep dive into the cultural influences of Black Panther, from the development of the Marvel Comics character in the 1960s to his current worldwide renown. Black Panther was created in 1966 by the legendary Stan Lee and Jack Kirby in the midst of the...

LAUNCHING THIS FALL/ DJINNTARA: RISE OF THE DJINN

LAUNCHING THIS FALL/ DJINNTARA: RISE OF THE DJINN

Filmmaker and Eisner Award-nominated comic book creator Kevin Grevioux, known for creating the cult classic Underworld movie franchise, I, Frankenstein, Adam: Legend of the Blue Marvel with Marvel  Comics, and Darkstorm, the Conqueror, presents his first Kickstarter...

SON LAUNCHES PUBLISHING COMPANY TO HONOR LATE FATHER

SON LAUNCHES PUBLISHING COMPANY TO HONOR LATE FATHER

Press Release JULY 14, 2023 — Omari Malik, has launched his own publishing company inspired by his  desire to see characters that not only look like him but also share similar experiences to him.  Malik comes from two Richmond-born parents. Malik’s father...

Interview with Jack Harris, Creator of ‘Terminus Veil’

Interview with Jack Harris, Creator of ‘Terminus Veil’

For fans of Call of Duty, Ghost in the Shell, Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six, and 24, Terminus Veil might be the series for you. Recently, Jack Harris, the creator of the action/ sci-fi comic book series, took a moment to talk with BlackSci-Fi.com about his recently...

Black Panther Video Game Announced

Black Panther Video Game Announced

For all the gamers and Black Panther fans, get excited. Game publisher Electronic Arts recently announced that developer Cliffhanger Games is now working on an upcoming Black Panther video game. From the announcement, "As we celebrate the 57th anniversary of Black...

Review/ New Talent Showcase: The Milestone Initiative #1

Review/ New Talent Showcase: The Milestone Initiative #1

Back in the 90s, Milestone Comics pioneered many stories highlighting characters of color with stories that were edgy and socially relevant, filling in a void that was missing in mainstream comic books at the time. The Milestone universe was also expanded on and...

DC Comics New Talent Showcase Milestone Initiative #1 Signings

DC Comics New Talent Showcase Milestone Initiative #1 Signings

On June 6th DC Comics and Milestone Media will release the New Talent Showcase Milestone Initiative #1 anthology. From the summary of the book, "In May of 2022, 12 writers and 12 artists came to DC headquarters to hone their skills with some of the best comics...

Review/ Dream Empire’s: Signs of the Gathering

Review/ Dream Empire’s: Signs of the Gathering

Written by: Akpoebi Tno Daniel Dan-Asisah Edited by: Tamara-Tonye Dan-Asisah Art by: Tno Daniel Dan-Asisah Science fiction has always been something I have enjoyed for a long time and has been dominated by non-marginalized people for the majority of its existence. So...

Meet Jason B. Ryan, The Creative Behind The Black Comic Superhero

Meet Jason B. Ryan, The Creative Behind The Black Comic Superhero

Press Release DMV native, Jason B Ryan is a TV/Film producer with over 20 years experience in the business. From being featured in a short film for a high school project to an intern at BET, it was apparent Jason had found where his passion lies. With Jason’s...

Review/ The Last Count of Monte Cristo

Review/ The Last Count of Monte Cristo

Written by: Ayize Jama-Everett Art by: Tristan Roach Published by: Abrams ComicArts - Megascope As the title implies, The Last Count of Monte Cristo is a re-imagining of Alexandre Dumas’ timeless tale of endurance, courage, and revenge. The work is part of a new line...

Review/ Scorpio #3

Review/ Scorpio #3

Writer: John Robinson IV Line Artist: Marco Zuffranieri Color Artist: Viviana Spinelli Cover Artist: Scarlet Leigh Editor: Andrea Smith Publisher: IV Wall Comics Scorpio #3, “When Shadows Attack,” is the third chapter in John Robinson IV’s comic book series and...

Review/ Is’nana the Were-Spider: Drums of Ogoun

Review/ Is’nana the Were-Spider: Drums of Ogoun

For the sixth (6!!!) release in his award-winning horror-fantasy, coming-of-age series, Is'nana the Were-Spider, writer, and creator Greg Anderson Elysee has recruited artist Sean Hill to create a Black Indie comic all-star team! The result, Is'nana the Were-Spider:...

On The Blerdar: Virtuous Con 2023

On The Blerdar: Virtuous Con 2023

Check out the latest On the Blerdar event! From the website: "Virtuous Con is a company created by Cerece Rennie Murphy that produces and hosts virtual events, as a vehicle for independent science fiction, fantasy, and comics creators to grow an audience for their...

Archives

Pin It on Pinterest